Bio-graphy

I was born and raised in Houston, Texas, but graduated high school from Philips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire. Having had my fill of both the Gulf and the East coasts, Iowa became my home for college and those tender post-graduate years. At Grinnell College (graduated December 2001) I majored in philosophy, and took advanced seminars on Jurgen Habermas and Hannah Arendt.  From there I moved to Iowa City, where I worked at the New Pioneer Co-op and various other local eateries. From 2004-2007, I lived in Lexington, Kentucky, for graduate school at first, but then for Leo and Jean at Blue Moon Farm, Thursday night pasta and bocci, and the internationally reknowned Geography Department Happy Hour.  In 2005, I received my MA in Geography, and in 2007, a Certificate in Gender and Women’s Studies. From 2007-2009, I made my home in Vancouver, BC, with frequent research trips to Texas and Pennsylvania, the home of the U.S.’s two family detention centers around which my dissertation revolves. In 2009, I moved to Austin, Texas, where I completed my doctoral research on US immigrant family detention. In August, 2010, I returned to Lexington to complete my dissertation and teach geography. In January 2011, I defended my dissertation, and five days later was offered the opportunity to work with the Mobilities, Borders and Identities Research Group in the Department of Geography at the University of Oulu. Thrilled, I finished up teaching, saw a few friends off into married bliss, met a few friends’ offspring, and headed to the endless days of the Finnish summer.


Advertisements